May 29, 2024

We are excited to announce the results of the 2024-2025 International Board of Directors Elections. Your participation was vital in ensuring our Board continues to reflect our membership’s diverse and dynamic nature. Thank you for voting and helping shape the future of TTRA.

Second Vice-President

Dr. Xiang (Robert) Li, Professor, School of Sport, Tourism and Hospitality Management, Temple University

NETTRA Chapter

Dr. Xiang (Robert) Li will serve as the Second Vice President starting July 1, 2024. Over the next four years, he will progress through the roles of First Vice President, President, and Chair of the Board. Dr. Li brings extensive experience in destination branding and tourist behavior, as well as a strong research and industry collaboration track record.

Chapter Liaison

Heath Dillard, President & CEO, Visit Greenville, South Carolina

SETTRA Chapter

Congratulations to Heath Dillard on being elected for a second term as Chapter Liaison. His term will begin on July 1, 2024, and conclude on June 30, 2026. As President & CEO of Visit Greenville, South Carolina, Heath has been instrumental in representing the interests of TTRA Chapters. The Chapter Liaison is crucial, serving as a voting member of the Board of Directors and holding a two-year term. Heath’s leadership and dedication to fostering strong connections between chapters have been invaluable, and we look forward to his continued contributions to the Board.

Elected Board members will serve from July 1, 2024, to June 30, 2027. Here are the elected members:

Chelsea Benitez

Chelsea Benitez
Director of Consumer Research
Brand USA

GWTTRA Chapter

Chelsea Benitez has been re-elected for a second term on the TTRA Board of Directors. Chelsea’s focus on enhancing our social media presence and amplifying TTRA’s initiatives has been instrumental in our growth. Her ongoing contributions are highly valued as we move forward.

Jennifer Chun

Jennifer Chun
Director of Tourism Research
State of Hawaii Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism

Hawaii Chapter

Jennifer Chun will be joining the Board of Directors for her first term. Her deep involvement in the Hawai’i Chapter and professional experience bring valuable insights to benefit the entire TTRA community.

Nancy McGehee

Dr. Nancy McGehee
R.B. Pamplin Professor of Hospitality and Tourism Management
Virginia Tech

SETTRA Chapter

Dr. Nancy McGehee has been elected to the Board of Directors. With her long-standing history with TTRA and numerous accolades, Nancy’s expertise and dedication to travel and tourism research will significantly enhance our Board’s effectiveness.

We want to thank all the candidates who participated in this election. Your dedication and willingness to serve are greatly appreciated. We encourage those not elected to consider running again in future elections.

Next Steps

The newly elected Board members will begin their terms on July 1, 2024. We look forward to their contributions and their positive impact on TTRA.

Questions? Contact us

About TTRA

The Travel and Tourism Research Association (TTRA) is a global non-profit organization dedicated to enhancing the travel and tourism industry through impactful research, education, and collaboration. Comprised of a diverse community of professionals, academics, and industry leaders, TTRA provides a platform for networking, knowledge sharing, and fostering innovation. With a commitment to driving sustainable growth and excellence in travel and tourism, TTRA continually strives to advance insights and best practices, shaping the industry’s future. TTRA members collaborate to advance the strategic use of research to provide leading-edge travel and tourism solutions that create a positive impact on people, places, and society. For more information, visit

Read more news >>