TTRA Leadership

Meet the TTRA Board of Directors. The Travel and Tourism Research Association (TTRA) Board of Directors and Executive Committee comprises a dedicated group of professionals passionate about advancing research and knowledge in the travel and tourism industry. These individuals are leaders in their fields and bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the association.

As the governing body of the Travel and Tourism Research Association (TTRA), our mission is to support and advance the travel and tourism industry through research, knowledge creation, dissemination, and education. We work collaboratively to develop strategies and initiatives that promote the growth and sustainability of the travel and tourism industry while keeping the values of integrity, excellence, and inclusivity in mind.

Hot air balloons

Board of Directors Guiding Principles

These are the guiding principles that the board has established for their oversight of TTRA:

  1. We are focused and act on what is best for TTRA.
  2. We are intentional and focused in our management approach.
  3. We are action-oriented.
  4. We always put members first.
  5. We deliver with high quality.
  6. We are purpose-driven to truly make a difference.

Shared TTRA Values

  1. Thought leadership
  2. Community
  3. Global perspectives
  4. Inclusive and collaborative relationships
  5. Forward-looking
  6. Fun and engaging

Executive Committee

The TTRA Executive Committee is responsible for overseeing the organization’s strategic direction, developing partnerships, and ensuring that the association remains at the forefront of travel and tourism research.

Esra Calvert - TTRA Board of Directors

Esra Calvert

Esra Calvert Consulting


Michael Rudowski - TTRA Board of Directors

Michael Rudowski



Sean Ruane, Ph.D. - TTRA Board of Directors

Sean Ruane, Ph.D.

Shannon College of Hotel Management

First Vice President

Lynne Coxwell - TTRA Board of Directors

Lynne Coxwell

Louisiana Office of Tourism

Second Vice President / Conference Chair

Heath Dillard - TTRA Board of Directors

Heath Dillard

Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority

Chapter Liaison

Sheila Flanagan, Ph.D. - TTRA Board of Directors

Sheila Flanagan, Ph.D.

Dundalk Institute of Technology

MOF Chair (ex-officio)

John Markham - TTRA Board of Directors

John Markham

Markham & Associates


Scott Russell - TTRA Board of Directors

Scott Russell

McKenzie Bridge Global


International Board Members

The TTRA International Board of Directors provides leadership, oversight, and effective management of the organization’s resources to support its programs and services. The board is committed to enhancing the public standing of TTRA and ensuring legal compliance and ethical integrity. By setting strategic goals and upholding the highest standards of professionalism, the board advances the field of travel and tourism research to meet the needs of its members and stakeholders.

Charles Goeldner, Ph.D. - TTRA Board of Directors

Charles Goeldner, Ph.D.

University of Colorado

Ex-Officio Member

Chelsea Benitez

Chelsea Benitez

Brand USA


Anna Blount - TTRA Board of Directors

Anna Blount

Longwoods International


Jennifer Chun - TTRA Board of Directors

Jennifer Chun

State of Hawai‘i DBEDT


Jeff Dalley, Ph.D. - TTRA Board of Directors

Jeff Dalley, Ph.D.

Tourism InSight LLC


Michel Dubreuil - TTRA Board of Directors

Michel Dubreuil

Destination Canada


Statia Elliot - TTRA Board of Directors

Statia Elliot, Ph.D.

University of Guelph


Erik Evjen - TTRA Board of Directors

Erik Evjen

Tourism Economics


Jennifer Griswold - TTRA Board of Directors

Jennifer Griswold

Future Partners


Whitney Knollenberg - TTRA Board of Directors

Whitney Knollenberg, Ph.D.

NC State University


Robert Li, Ph.D. - TTRA Board of Directors

Robert Li, Ph.D.

Temple University


Nancy McGehee

Nancy McGehee, Ph.D.

Virginia Tech


Past Presidents

The Travel and Tourism Research Association would like to thank the following individuals for serving the association in the role of President.

YearNameOrganization Affiliation During Term
2023Esra CalvertEsra Calvert Consulting
2022Nate GierynTravel Texas
2021Daniel NahoopiiSMS Research and Marketing Services, Inc.
2020Sue BeetonIndependent Researcher
2019Scott RussellLas Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority
2018Marion JoppeUniversity of Guelph
2017Susan BrunizeelSan Diego Tourism Authority
2016Jeffrey EslingerD.K. Shifflet & Associates, Ltd.
2015Dan MishellVisit California
2014Marlise TaylorVisit NC – Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina
2013Rick PerdueVirginia Tech Department of Hospitality and Tourism
2012Sheila FlanaganDublin Institute of Technology
2011Denise MillerStrategic Marketing & Research, Inc.
2010DeeAnn McKinneyMissouri Division of Tourism
2009Rick CainTNS
2008Brian RufRuf Strategic Solutions
2007C. Noel SweeneyTourism & Transport Consult International
2006Daniel L. ErkkilaUniversity of Minnesota Tourism Center
2005Scott MeisCanadian Tourism Commission
2004Rich CarolloOak Park Illinois Convention and Visitors Bureau
2003John J. PackerMarketVision Research
2002Ruth Nadler TrojanNYC & Company
2001Mark J. OkrantPlymouth State University
2000Terrence JicinskyLas Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority
1999Ed McWilliamsD.K. Shifflet & Associates, Ltd.
1998Donna LarsenNorthern Spirit Trading Company
1997Lorin K. ToepperUniversity of Alaska – Fairbanks
1996James F. BurkeRyerson Polytechnic University
1995Blair F. StevensCanadian Tourism Commission
1994Suzanne D. CookU.S. Travel Data Center
1993Joan L. McClellanMcClellan Corp. International
1992Peter W. WilliamsSimon Fraser University
1991John D. HuntUniversity of Massachusetts
1990Rossi RalenkotterLas Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority
1989Bob LeBlancLouisiana Office of Tourism
1988Russell A. BellMarriott Corporation
1987William F. PriggeNew School for Social Research
1986Anastasia MannMark Allan Travel
1985J. Desmond SlatteryN.W. Ayer, Inc.
1984Kit NarodickThe Boeing Company
1983Paul NovakMarriott Corporation
1982J.R. Brent RitchieUniversity of Calgary
1981Joanna S. CaproniSimmons Market Research Bureau
1980Beverly D. ShipkaAmerican Airlines
1979Douglas C. FrechtlingU.S. Travel Data Center
1978Stewart TennerKLM Royal Dutch Airlines
1977George SaramesLockheed-California Co.
1976Gordon TaylorTourism Canada
1975Robert A. PeattieRobert A. Peattie Associates
1974Charles R. GoeldnerUniversity of Colorado
1973Earl E. DitmarsAmerican Airlines
1972William B. KeelingUniversity of Georgia
1971Peter MichaelsNational Geographic
1970Lorenzo LoHong Kong Tourism Association

State Of The Association

Each year, TTRA holds its Annual Business Meeting in conjunction with the Annual International Conference in June. The meeting allows TTRA Leadership to share key business information with its membership and conference attendees. A business meeting summary is published as the State of the Association.

2023 State of Association

Download the TTRA Bylaws (PDF)

Get In Touch

TTRA is a highly respected and established organization dedicated to advancing the standards of travel and tourism research and analysis. With its focus on excellence, professionalism, quality, and inclusivity, TTRA is the go-to source for professionals in the industry seeking to stay ahead in their field.